My Google Summer of Code Project

Introduction

Its been a little over a week since the GSoC list was released on the 22 of April, 2016. I was at my computer 5 hours before the list of accepted students was released. I had a lot of tension and could not wait to see the results. The list was scheduled to be released at 19:00 UTC, which is 20:00 WAT for me. At 19:50, there was a general blackout in my area so my modem went of and the tension doubled. It is not only until about 20:20 when a friend with a mobile modem that had some power left shared his connection with me. On opening gmail, the first mail i received was a congratulation from google. I did not even wait to finish the whole message. I felt like i someone that just past the GCE(Cameroonians will understand).  I have been dreaming about doing GSoC with OpenMRS for a long time, i feel like am still inside that dream(am sure there is a big smile on my face in real life, if indeed this is a dream). The real coding has not yet started but I am already feeling a lot of excitement about the program.

A little About My Organization, OpenMRS

OpenMRS is an Electronic Medical Recording System(EMR), designed for use in the developing world and first established in 2004. The system has evolved into a medical informatics platform used on every continent, supporting health care delivery and research in an extremely wide variety of context. OpenMRS has a modular architecture where the core functionality of the EMR can be extended by add on modules. The OpenMRS community is made up of people of various backgrounds which include, doctors, IT professionals, Researchers, Lecturers, Developers, Software Engineers, etc. You can know more about OpenMRS from openmrs.org.

About My Project

For my Google Summer of Code project i will be working the OpenMRS Radiology Module. The radiology module adds radiology information system (RIS) functionalities to the core OpenMRS EMR. To learn more about this module, look at https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/docs/Radiology+Module.

Currently the OpenMRS radiology module has a poor support for building radiology reports. In this project I will be working with my mentors to enhance the reporting capabilities of the radiology module.

I will be mentored by Ivo Ulrich and Judy Gichoya. They are both amazing people. I have only known them for a short while but am glad they are my mentors and i look forward to learning a lot from them.

In my project i will be using technologies like, Java, J2EE, Spring Framework, Hibernate and other opensource technologies like revision control systems, build tools like maven, etc.

To know more about my project, checkout its project page here https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/projects/Radiology+Reporting+Enhancement.

My Expectations

As an OpenMRS contributor for the past one year, i know what it means to be part of the community and look forward to an amazing summer as a GSoC student with OpenMRS. I trust i will learn a lot from my mentors and the community in general.I know i will gain a wealth of experience in software engineering as GSoCer this year with OpenMRS.And maybe one day become a core committer like Daniel Kayiwa, the guy whom i have been pestering with questions and pull requests since i joined the community.

Leave a Reply

